Sara Chelou

BIOGRAPHY

 

Sara Chelou is an active witness to the beginnings of street art in France. It was in the 90s, in Paris, that she began to paint outside the walls, as a committed artist in the underground world, in industrial cathedrals and libertarian wasteland.

She has a journey that is both plastic and experimental which questions the role of the artist in the city but also his place in society.

Being part of some of the first artistic experimental collectives, she participated in the creation of the first urban art events and the first European festivals on the same subject (as in Budapest in Hungary), then brought her art in abandoned industrial wastelands before moving into various Parisian studios.

For her way of painting in the city, she plays with references from American pop culture with Keith Haring, Warhol, Lichtenstein, and graffiti culture from everywhere. Sara Chelou also takes an engaged look at our time. Her urban poetry accompanies us and her messages slows down our steps.

From street art to contemporary art through pop art, she is an artist who participates in the current artistic renewal.

In her paintings she speaks of a graphic culture and a time when art is expressed and oscillates between the forbidden and the game, leaves the workshop to confront society in the streets and in the cities, reflects the world and its tensions with different influences, a form of fusion between citizen reflection, geek culture and graffiti.

His work is free, without borders.

Recognized today on the French and international artistic scene through numerous exhibitions and especially by international collectors, her paintings know no borders, her works are present on all continents and her colors and messages carry a salutary universality. Through her paintings, the adventure reaches your home.

 

NEWSLETTER

Stay informed on ARTree.

Subscribe to the newsletter :

Sara Chelou

BIOGRAPHIE

 

Sara Chelou est un témoin actif des débuts du street art en France. C’est dans les années 90, à Paris, qu’elle commence à peindre hors les murs, en tant qu’artiste engagée du milieu underground, dans les cathédrales industrielles et les friches libertaires.

Elle a un parcours à la fois plastique et expérimental qui interroge le rôle de l’artiste dans la ville mais aussi sa place dans la société.

Faisant partie des premiers groupes artistiques considérés comme expérimentaux à l’époque, elle a alors participé à la création des premières manifestations d’art urbain et des premiers festivals européens sur le même sujet (comme à Budapest en Hongrie), puis a baladé son art dans des friches industrielles désaffectées avant d’investir divers ateliers parisiens.

Pour sa manière de peindre dans la ville, elle joue avec les références de la pop culture américaine avec Keith Haring, Warhol, Lichtenstein, et de la culture graffiti de partout et d’ailleurs. Sara Chelou porte également un regard engagé sur notre époque. Sa poésie urbaine nous accompagne et ses messages ralentissent nos pas !

Du street art à l’art contemporain en passant par le pop art, c’est une artiste qui participe au renouveau artistique actuel.

Dans ses toiles, elle parle d’une culture graphique et d’une époque où l’art s’exprime et oscille entre l’interdit et le jeu. L’artiste sort de l’atelier pour se confronter à la société dans les rues et dans les villes. Les créations de Sara Chelou reflète le monde et ses tensions avec différentes influences, une forme de fusion entre réflexion citoyenne, culture geek et graffiti.

Son œuvre est libre, sans frontières.

Reconnue aujourd’hui sur la scène artistique française et internationale par des expositions nombreuses et surtout des collectionneurs internationaux, ses peintures ne connaissent pas de frontières, ses œuvres s’exportent sur tous les continents et ses couleurs et ses messages portent une universalité salutaire. Sur ses toiles, l’aventure se poursuit jusque chez vous.

NEWSLETTER

Restez informé sur ARTree.

Inscrivez-vous à la newsletter :