Chanoir

BIOGRAPHY

Alberto VEJARANO, alias CHANOIR, is a Franco-Colombian artist, born in 1976 in Bogotá. He currently lives and works in Paris.

In 1996, he became passionate about post graffiti culture and founded the 80 collective. He studied at the Beaux-Arts in Paris with Jean-Michel Alberola and graduated in 2002. He gave drawing lessons to a little girl who offered him a drawing: a big cat. It is the revelation, he creates his alter ego and invents the systematic metamorphosis of his logotype. For the past twenty years, Chanoir has been working on spray in the streets of the world, or on canvas in his studio.

It explores the pictorial adaptations for children of the European literature of America and Japan. It depicts the different mythologies of cartoons of a globalized culture. He participates in “humor in art” then attends François Boirond for the exhibition “Beauty” in Avignon.

He directed the documentary “Free Walls” around the Barcelona Street Art scene. He collaborates with big brands like Cacharel and Samsung. He claims his work as apolitical and refuses the intellectualization of art. Exhibited by numerous galleries and even by the Cartier Foundation in 2009, he also works for hotels whose interior he decorates, such as the Streets Hotel, located in the Marais, in Paris.

Just Dance 2019     Devenir un graffeur en 5 lecons     Exposición: El Colgado     2016 : Chanoir & Legallais

Chanoir

BIOGRAPHIE

Alberto VEJARANO, alias CHANOIR, est un artiste Franco-colombien, né en 1976 à Bogota. Il vit et travaille actuellement à Paris.

Dès 1996, il se passionne pour la culture post graffiti et fonde le collectif 80. Il étudie aux Beaux-Arts de Paris auprès de Jean-Michel Alberola et sort diplômer en 2002. Il donne des cours de dessin à une petite fille qui lui offrira un dessin : un gros chat. C’est la révélation, il crée son alter ego et invente alors la métamorphose systématique de son logotype. Depuis maintenant une vingtaine d’années, Chanoir travaille au spray dans les rues du monde entier, ou sur toile dans son atelier.

Il explore les adaptations picturales pour enfant de la littérature européenne de l’Amérique et du Japon. Il met en scène les différentes mythologies des dessins animés d’une culture mondialisée. Il participe à « L’humour dans l’art » puis assiste François Boirond pour l’exposition « La beauté » en Avignon.

Il réalise le documentaire « Murs libres » autour de la scène Street art barcelonaise. Il collabore avec de grandes marques comme Cacharel et Samsung. Il revendique son œuvre comme apolitique et refuse l’intellectualisation de l’art. Exposé par de nombreuses galeries et même par la fondation Cartier en 2009, il travaille aussi pour des hôtels dont il décore l’intérieur, comme le Streets Hôtel, situé dans le Marais, à Paris.

Just Dance 2019     Devenir un graffeur en 5 lecons     Exposición: El Colgado     2016 : Chanoir & Legallais