Remy Rault

BIOGRAPHY

 

The same year as the world historical Sputnik launch in 1957, Remy Rault continues to embody mankind’s quest to explore the unknown with his art.

His space odyssey began in the 1960’s when as a child, he played with pen and paper, letting his hand wander aimlessly across the page, with both his eyes closed— later seeking out images and figures thus putting some sense into the otherwise meaningless composite of random marks and lines.

He studied Fine Arts in ESBA of Paris, where his experiments with diverse techniques, as well as his exposure to urban art (especially graffiti) in the 1990’s expanded his repertoire of tools and means of expressing his artistic vision.

Today, Remy Rault’s works convey psychedelic universes populated by vibrant creatures and planets in hues reminiscent of Matisse and Pollock. Juxtaposed with everyday objects against pitch black darkness, these images have the effect of a Pink Floyd song or David Lynch film—evoking a chaos of fragmented thoughts and emotions that would otherwise remain confined to one’s subconscious.

As for the purpose that art serves to him, Remy hints the answer in his latest work called “Auto-Portrait”, where he likens the painting process to computer hard disk defragmentation.

Like the computer, the psyche too can get cluttered up with fragmented files—feelings, impulses and associations that can slow one down if not sorted out.

Painting offers an amenable tool to put them back into their proper places. With the deliberate strokes of paint on, canvas, inner visions are translated into outer reality. The process is similar to exorcism and likewise, the outcome is always relieving.

Tokyo Dreamer 3D     Permanent Report Interview

Remy Rault

BIOGRAPHIE

 

Né la même année que le lancement de Spoutnik monde historique en 1957, Rémy Rault continue d’incarner la quête de l’humanité d’explorer l’inconnu avec son art.
Son odyssée de l’espace a commencé dans les années 1960quand, enfant, il a joué avec un stylo et du papier, laissant sa main errer sans but à travers la page, avec les deux yeux fermés— tard cherchant des images et des chiffres mettant ainsi un certain sens dans le sens contraire composite de marques et des lignes au hasard.
Il a étudié Beaux-arts de l’ESBA de Paris, où ses expériences avec des techniques diverses, ainsi que son exposition à l’art urbain (graffitis en particulier) dans les années 1990 élargi son répertoire d’outils et de moyens d’exprimer sa vision artistique.
Aujourd’hui, les œuvres de Rémy Rault véhiculer univers peuplé de créatures psychédéliques vibrantes et des planètes dans les teintes rappellent de Matisse et de Pollock. Juxtaposés avec des objets du quotidien contre les ténèbres nuit noire, ces images ont l’effet d’une chanson de Pink Floyd ou David Lynch film évoquant un chaos de pensées fragmentées et les émotions qui autrement resteraient confinées à son subconscient.
Quant à l’objectif que l’art sert à lui, Rémy conseils la réponse dans son dernier ouvrage intitulé « Autoportrait », où il compare le processus de peinture à la défragmentation du disque dur d’ordinateur.
Comme l’ordinateur, le psychisme trop peut être encombré avec des fichiers fragmentés-sentiments, des pulsions et des associations qui peuvent ralentir un vers le bas s’ils ne sont pas triés.
La peinture offre un outil prêtent à les remettre à leur place appropriée. Avec les coups délibérés de peinture sur, toile, visions intérieures sont traduites dans la réalité extérieure. Le processus est similaire à l’exorcisme et de même, le résultat est toujours le soulagement.

Tokyo Dreamer 3D     Reportage Permanent Interviewe