Paloma Vuong

BIOGRAPHY

 

Plastic artist
The doll in all its states takes shape under the fingers of Paloma Vuong. Whatever the representation, the symbol, the emotion they express, she designs them from meticulously chosen materials. Her dolls are unique pieces in which she incorporates an agate, a semi-precious stone that wanders through their body. A bit like a cat that instinctively lands on the part of the human body that needs comfort. The dolls are called “Totems” because it is up to each person to give them the value they want according to what makes them feel good. These dolls are like cuddly toys. They are there to comfort. Unique and evolving like each of us.
Art takes care of us…
Paloma Vuong’s Totem dolls are inspired by the book Women Running with Wolves by Clarissa Pinkola Estés and the painting “Thoughts” by the painter Hundertwasser among others. Above all, they open up a new dimension in her artistic and professional career: an eclectic mix of techniques acquired in the service of her creativity.

Course
Thanks to an overflowing imagination, Paloma Vuong has tried out different techniques throughout her life, in order to realise all that was growing in her head.

At the age of 17, she obtained a Baccalaureate in Plastic Arts and took courses in fashion design at the ready-to-wear company ZAPA (1981). Then, she obtained a BTS in historical costumes specialising in “tournures” in 1991, and ran her own costume and corsetry workshop in Pézenas as a craftsman in 1996. She learns about dyeing and transforming materials. Following a competition of the Métiers d’Arts of the city of Paris, she obtained the SEMA prize in 2000 for her atypical professional career in the arts. That same year, she discovered haute couture weaving while working at Malhia Kent, the official supplier of Chanel tweeds, among others, and the magic of fibres when she was in charge of the decoration of the Trend Forum of the Spinexpo international “fibres and yarns” exhibition in Shanghai in 2004.
In parallel to her professional career, she exhibits her personal creations as a craftswoman in various fairs and participates in artists’ collectives. To date, she runs two workshops in Pont-Aven (South Finistère) dedicated to freeing the personality of each person. A spontaneous painting workshop and a “Tao doll” workshop which can be declined endlessly. Without judgement, comparison or expectation of a precise result, it is easier to free one’s innate creativity, to assert oneself and to blossom whatever the context.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

Paloma Vuong

BIOGRAPHIE

 

Artiste plasticienne
La poupée dans tous ses états prend forme sous les doigts de Paloma Vuong. Quels que soient la représentation, le symbole, l’émotion qu’elles traduisent, elle les conçoit à partir de matériaux choisis méticuleusement. Ses poupées sont des pièces uniques dans lesquelles elle incorpore une agate, pierre semi-précieuse qui se balade dans leur corps. Un peu comme un chat qui se pose instinctivement sur la partie du corps de l’humain qui a besoin de réconfort. « Totem » car c’est à chacun de lui donner la valeur qu’il souhaite en fonction de ce qui lui fait du bien. Ces poupées sont comme des doudous. Elles sont là pour réconforter. Uniques et évolutives comme chacun de nous.
L’Art prend soin de nous…
Les poupées Totem de Paloma Vuong sont inspirées du livre Femmes qui courent avec les loups de Clarissa Pinkola Estés et du tableau “Pensées” du peintre Hundertwasser entre autres. Elles ouvrent surtout une nouvelle dimension dans son parcours artistique et professionnel : un mélange éclectique de techniques acquises au service de sa créativité.

Parcours
Grâce à une imagination débordante, Paloma Vuong s’est essayée à différentes techniques tout au long de sa vie, afin de réaliser tout ce qui germait dans sa tête.

Un Bac d’Arts plastiques en poche à 17 ans, elle suit des cours de styliste modéliste dans l’entreprise de prêt-à-porter ZAPA (1981). Puis, elle obtient un BTS de costumes historiques spécialisé dans les « tournures » en 1991, et dirige son propre atelier de costumes-corsetterie, à Pézenas, en tant qu’artisan d’arts en 1996. Elle s’initie aux teintures et transformations des matières. Suite à un concours des Métiers d’Arts de la ville de Paris, elle obtient le prix de la SEMA, en 2000, pour son parcours professionnel atypique dans les métiers d’Arts. La même année, elle découvre le tissage haute couture en travaillant chez Malhia Kent fournisseur officiel des tweeds Chanel entre autres, et la magie des fibres alors qu’elle est en charge de la décoration du Trend Forum du salon international Spinexpo de « fibres et fils » à Shanghai en 2004.
Parallèlement à son parcours professionnel, elle expose ses créations personnelles en tant qu’artisan d’Art dans différents salons et participe à des collectifs d’artistes. À ce jour, elle anime deux ateliers à Pont-Aven (Finistère sud) consacrés à libérer la personnalité de chacun. Un atelier de peinture spontanée et un atelier « Poupée Tao » qui se décline à l’infini. Sans jugement, comparaison ou attente d’un résultat précis, il est plus facile de libérer sa créativité innée, de s’affirmer et de s’épanouir quel que soit le contexte.