Mr Strange

BIOGRAPHY

 

Jean-Marie Gitard, alias Mr Strange is a French artist born in 1964 who lives in the south of France.
After studying art history and a fairly classic approach as a visual artist, Mr Strange, very largely inspired by surrealism and carried by a curious and inventive personality, gradually moved away from classical painting. to take an interest in polymorphic forms, mixing painting and sculpture. This is the period of the “Spictures”.

His artistic development then led him to appropriate the digital medium. This allows him to deepen his inner world and to take a look at the world around him without constraint or limit, what he calls his photos manipulations.
Hybridization, logic of the absurd, subversion, are the artist’s favorite entry points. From birth to death, from the individual to society, he spares no one. Mr Strange handles surrealism with a certain derision, and offers a reflection on the world that is sometimes poetic, sometimes caustic but always sharp.

Look at a world with your head upside down

NEWSLETTER

Stay informed on ARTree.

Subscribe to the newsletter :

Mr Strange

BIOGRAPHIE

 

Jean-Marie Gitard, alias Mr Strange est un artiste français né en 1964 qui vit dans le sud de la france.
Après des études d’histoire de l’art et une approche assez classique d’artiste plasticien, Mr Strange, très largement inspiré par le surréalisme et porté par une personnalité curieuse et inventive s’est, peu à peu, éloigné de la peinture classique pour s’intéresser à des formes polymorphes, mêlant peinture et sculpture. C’est la période des “Spictures”.

Son évolution artistique l’amène ensuite à s’approprier le support numérique. Cela lui permet d’approfondir son univers intérieur et de porter un regard sur le monde qui l’entoure sans contrainte ou limite, ce qu’il nomme ses photos manipulations.
Hybridation, logique de l’absurde, subversion, sont les portes d’entrées de prédilection de l’artiste. De la naissance à la mort, de l’individu à la société, il n’épargne personne. Mr Strange manie le surréalisme avec une certaine dérision, et propose une réflexion sur le monde tantôt poétique, tantôt caustique mais toujours aiguisée.

Regard sur un monde la tête à l’envers

NEWSLETTER

Restez informé sur ARTree.

Inscrivez-vous à la newsletter :