Denys

BIOGRAPHY

Like the great names of Jazz, Denys is first of all a life of turmoil. Between drugs and snowboarding to live. The photo accompanies him from Courchevel, St Tropez to arrive in Monaco. He will become the assistant of a recognized photographer. This meeting will open the doors of a Parisian agency. His alert eye will be quickly noticed by the professionals and the director of the agency who will encourage him to persevere.

In 2009, he goes to New York with old, obsolete, digital film, and in this unknown place, a little lost without knowing anyone, he does what he knows best: capturing faces, situations, capturing emotions , the sensations …
Mobile phones, disposable devices, film, digital, it matters the media. He flashes everything he sees, feels, wherever he goes in the world.

Behind his lens, there are two lives that are telescoping … his own and that of the one who finds himself under his gaze. It’s his journey, a path full of signs, like the day he finds a satchel dropped from a car with his first camera in it. As obvious … a path drawn in advance, inevitable! He knows how to talk about others because he has a life behind him. Before moving on to the artistic, he went through the human, as a matter. He has practiced, tested, shaped and it is his experience that we feel and that is printed on his photos!

Interview by Nathalie Tardieu, friend and journalist

Denys

BIOGRAPHIE

A l’instar des grands noms du Jazz, Denys c’est d’abord une vie de tumultes. Entre drogue et snowboard pour vivre. La photo l’accompagne de Courchevel, à St Tropez pour arriver à Monaco. Il y deviendra l’assistant d’un photographe reconnu. Cette rencontre lui ouvrira les portes d’une agence parisienne. Son œil alerte sera vite remarqué par les professionnels et la directrice de l’agence qui l’encourageront à persévérer.

En 2009 il part à New York avec de vieilles pellicules périmées, un numérique, et dans cet endroit inconnu, un peu paumé sans connaître personne, il fait ce qu’il sait le mieux faire : capturer les visages, les situations, capturer les émotions, les sensations…
Les téléphones portables, les appareils jetables, les argentiques, les numériques, peu lui importe les supports. Il flashe tout ce qu’il voit, ce qu’il ressent, partout où il va dans le monde.

Derrière son objectif, il y a deux vies qui se télescopent… la sienne et celle de celui qui se retrouve sous son regard. C’est son parcours, un parcours semé de signes, comme le jour où il trouve une sacoche tombée d’une voiture avec son premier appareil photo dedans. Comme une évidence…un chemin tracé d’avance, inévitable ! Il sait parler des autres parce qu’il a une vie derrière lui. Avant de passer à l’artistique il est passé par l’humain, comme une matière. Il l’a pratiquée, éprouvée, façonnée et c’est son vécu que l’on ressent et qui s’imprime sur ses photos !

Propos recueillis par Nathalie Tardieu, amie et journaliste