Bastek

BIOGRAPHY

 

Born November 22, 1982 in Fontainebleau (France), he is a self-taught urban art artist. The artist is known for his oval motifs, which are very representative of his style, and his diamond-shaped canvases pasted directly in the street.

His nickname, which has become his artist name, comes to him from Poland where he studied and lived for a year.

His works are mainly visible on the walls of the French capital “Paris”. Generally in height, and this, since 2009. It is also found in the rest of France: Marseille, Aix-en-Provence, Arles, Orléans, Arbois… But also in the rest of the globe, especially in Belgium, Spain, Portugal, Italy, Germany, Greece, Sweden, Denmark, Poland, Indonesia, India, Kenya and Costa Rica.

He draws his inspiration from everyday life, from urban life, but also from the comic strip, manga and comic culture of which he is passionate. The result is a style mixing abstract and figurative based on its pattern of “bubbles“.

This is a deliberately oversimplified representation of Man, erasing any distinctive sign (gender, disability, ethnic origin, belonging to a cultural group, etc.) that could be a potential source of misunderstandings, divisions, etc. Racism, Homophobia … have no place in its production, except to denounce them!

The accumulation of its identical motifs also refers to a crowd of individuals, representative of an idealized society which would be nothing but equality, peace and harmony. Because in the absence of a visible difference, in the end. We are all identical in our nature as human beings.

His first works marked him. It is after only a few months/years that he develops his work. Reducing the importance of the mass to put its forms in situations. Sometimes humorous, sometimes tragic or using it to make portraits whether they are strangers, celebrities (Gainsbourg, Césaria Evora, Nelson Mandela, Bob Marley…) or even fictional characters (Les Blagues de toto, The Legendaries, Hellboy, V for Vendetta, Homer Simpson…).

Through his paintings directly stuck in the street, he takes literally the well-known expression of the world of Street art defining the street as an “open-air gallery”.

He now happens to abandon his little characters for stencil, but he always ends up coming back to them and… putting them in a situation, sharing them giving them the floor (…), making them evolve and even traveling (…) thus offering to the walls sadly neglected by the globe and to distracted passers-by a small dose of colors and poetry without borders!

In 10 years of activity, her accumulation of “bubbles” have never left her. Initially thought of as human beings reduced to their most basic form in order to advocate equality and harmony in society, they finally became his signature over time.

Read more

The Amazing Race Canada, Bastek est à 17:50 mn

NEWSLETTER

Stay informed on ARTree.

Subscribe to the newsletter :

Bastek

BIOGRAPHIE

 

Né le 22 novembre 1982 à Fontainebleau (France), c’est un artiste d’art urbain autodidacte. L’artiste est connu pour ses motifs ovales bien représentatifs de son style et ses toiles en losanges collées directement dans la rue.

Son surnom devenu son nom d’artiste lui vient de Pologne où il étudia et vécu pendant un an.

Ses œuvres sont visibles essentiellement sur les murs de la capitale française « Paris ». Généralement en hauteur, et ce, depuis 2009. On le retrouve également dans le reste de l’hexagone : Marseille, Aix-en-Provence, Arles, Orléans, Arbois… Mais aussi dans le reste du globe, notamment en Belgique, Espagne, Portugal, Italie, Allemagne, Grèce, Suède, Danemark, Pologne, Indonésie, Inde, Kenya et au Costa Rica.

Il puise son inspiration dans la vie quotidienne, dans la vie urbaine, mais aussi dans la culture bandes dessinées, mangas, comics dont il est passionné. Il en résulte un style mélangeant abstrait et figuratif reposant sur son motif de « bubbles ».

Celui-ci est une représentation volontairement simplifiée à l’extrême de l’Homme, gommant tout signe distinctif (genre, handicap, origine ethnique, appartenance à un groupe culturel…) pouvant être source potentielle d’incompréhensions, de clivages… Racisme, Homophobie… n’ont pas de place dans sa production, si ce n’est pour les dénoncer !

L’accumulation de ses motifs identiques renvoi d’ailleurs à une foule d’individus, représentative d’une société idéalisée qui ne serait qu’égalité, paix et harmonie. Car en l’absence de différence visible, en fin de compte. Nous sommes tous identiques dans notre nature d’être humain.

Ses premières œuvres l’ont marqué. C’est au bout de quelques mois/années seulement, qu’il fait évoluer son travail. Réduisant l’importance de la masse pour mettre ses formes en situations. Parfois humoristiques, parfois tragiques ou s’en servant pour réaliser des portraits qu’il s’agisse d’inconnus, de célébrités (Gainsbourg, Césaria Evora, Nelson Mandela, Bob Marley…) ou encore de personnages fictifs (Les Blagues de toto, Les Légendaires, Hellboy, V pour Vendetta, Homer Simpson…).

Par l’intermédiaire de ses toiles directement collées dans la rue, il prend au pied de la lettre l’expression bien connue du monde du Street art définissant la rue comme « galerie à ciel ouvert »

Il lui arrive désormais de délaisser ses petits personnages pour du pochoir, mais il finit toujours par y revenir et… les mettre en situation, les partager leur donnant la parole (…), les faire évoluer et même voyager (…) offrant ainsi aux murs tristement délaissés du globe et aux passants distraits une petite dose de couleurs et de poésie sans frontière !

En 10 ans d’activités, ses accumulations de « bubbles » ne l’ont jamais quittées. Initialement pensées comme des êtres humains réduits au plus basique de leur forme afin de prôner égalité et harmonie en société, elles sont finalement devenues sa signature au fil du temps.

Lire plus

The Amazing Race Canada, Bastek est à 17:50 mn

NEWSLETTER

Restez informé sur ARTree.

Inscrivez-vous à la newsletter :