PAELLA?

BIOGRAPHY

From “Paella Chimicos” (1985-1999) to “PAELLA?” (2000 -…)

Paella is a painter-poster artist of Spanish origin born in 1962, he works in Paris.

Harnessed with a training in graphic design, a degree in Fine Arts and a degree in Fine Arts, he embarked on the pictorial adventure of the 80’s – “Paella Chimicos” his artistic scene name is taken from the anagram of his name and surname – brandishing the banner of a “Deliberate Figuration”. Urban activist of the 1st generation its posters full of humor – silkscreened like those of 68 – line the gutters, animating spiral heads characters. His untimely interventions in the city or the metro continue to be outside the revenue and fashion of Street-Art. Since the year 2000 he signs “PAELLA?” a work where images and texts are telescoping and styles multiply in a will to resist the consumption of standardized images.
The figurative tool that the artist has fashioned is used to question both the play of the work itself and an allusive representation of the contemporary human comedy. Systematically a sentence, an aphoristic formula comes to rest on his painted images, forcing the reading of two registers – each often offering double-meaning, or even more! – taking pleasure in an equivocality that is multiplied. Also Paella has the simultaneous requirement of the background and the form – of the signifier and the signified – as much as he is concerned to question the very means of his expression by obliging himself not to settle down in a stylistic way and therefore to change perpetually in order to consider his work: from Expressionism to graphic sobriety, including the rehearsals of the great masters or some of the emblematic works of the History of Art. His obstinacy in sticking to the 80’s of the satyrico-politico-advertising posters earned him to be considered as one of the first actors of the urban movement today labeled “Street-Art”, his main ambition
being to perpetuate free political expression in the lineage of the May 68 images.
About thirty years of research as he likes to describe the progress of his work, and more than 120 solo exhibitions in France and abroad to his credit, the little guy with a spiral head has not finished smiling at us .

Paella Chimicos     L’Interview     L’atelier de…Paella?     Paella Chimicos fait son tableau

PAELLA?

BIOGRAPHIE

De « Paella Chimicos » (1985-1999) à « PAELLA? » (2000-…)

Paella est un peintre-affichiste d’origine espagnole né en 1962, il travaille à Paris.

Harnaché d’une formation de graphiste, d’un diplôme des Beaux-Arts et d’une licence en Arts Plastiques, il se lance dans l’aventure picturale des 80’s – « Paella Chimicos » son nom de scène artistique est tiré de l’anagramme de ses nom et prénom – brandissant l’étendard d’une « Figuration Délibérée ». Activiste urbain de la 1ère génération ses affichettes pleines d’humour – sérigraphiées comme celles de 68 – s’alignent sur les gouttières, les animant de personnages à têtes de spirale. Ses interventions intempestives en ville ou dans le métro continuent d’être en marge des recettes et de la mode du Street-Art. Depuis l’an 2000 il signe « PAELLA? » un travail où images et textes se télescopent et les styles se multiplient dans une volonté de résistance à la consommation des images standardisées.
L’outil figuratif que l’artiste a façonné lui sert à questionner à la fois la mise en jeu de l’œuvre elle-même et une représentation allusive à la comédie humaine contemporaine. Systématiquement une phrase, une formule aphoristique vient se poser sur ses images peintes, forçant ainsi la lecture de deux registres – chacun souvent offrant des double-sens, voire plus ! – en prenant un malin plaisir à une équivocité qui s’en trouve démultipliée. Aussi Paella a l’exigence simultanée du fond et de la forme – du signifiant et du signifié – autant il se soucie de remettre en question les moyens même de son expression en s’obligeant à ne pas s’installer dans une voie stylistique et donc à changer perpétuellement de manière d’envisager son travail : de l’expressionnisme à la sobriété graphique en passant par la reprise des grands maîtres ou de certaines œuvres emblématiques de l’Histoire de l’Art. Son opiniâtreté à coller dès les 80’s des affichettes satyrico-politico-publicitaires lui vaut d’être considéré comme l’un des premiers acteurs de la mouvance urbaine aujourd’hui labellisée « Street-Art », son ambition principale
étant de perpétuer l’expression libre politique dans la lignée des images de Mai 68.
Une trentaine d’années de recherche comme il aime à qualifier la progression de son œuvre, et plus de 120 expositions personnelles en France et à l’étranger à son actif, le petit bonhomme à tête de spirale n’a pas fini de nous sourire.

Paella Chimicos     L’Interview     L’atelier de…Paella?     Paella Chimicos fait son tableau