FKDL

BIOGRAPHY

 

FKDL, his real name Franck Duval, born in 1963 in Paris, is a French painter and collagist. He studied fashion design at Studio Berçot, then trained in circus arts at the Annie Fratellini school. These two decisive years will mark his work as an artist.

Specialist in scotch art and paper collage, he joined the world of street art in 2006. Over the years, he has stocked various magazines from the 1920s through the 1970s to the present day. The aesthetics of the past is an inspiration that we find in his works. His journey as an artist painter begins in the 80s where he creates characters in acrylic and ink, in the 2000s he discovers the art of scotch tape, created by Gil Joseph Wolman in 1963. It was during this period he takes the pseudonym of FKDL. His work will be presented in 2005 as part of a retrospective at the Halle Saint-Pierre in Paris. In 2006 at the “Aux arts Citoyens” event at the Blancs Manteaux animation space in Paris. He discovered the world of urban art there.

“Without being from graffiti, tag or stencil, I wanted to confront the street, its constraints and its encounters. I quickly got a taste for the collage of my characters on city walls. Now I can’t live without it. ”

One can find his ephemeral works in the streets of Paris, Berlin, London, Brussels, New York, Barcelona, Turin, as in Guyana and Guadeloupe. It is also regularly presented in various galleries.

Scotch ART, FKDL forerunner?

Sweet streets

FKDL

BIOGRAPHIE

 

FKDL, de son vrai nom Franck Duval, né en 1963 à Paris, est un peintre et collagiste français. Il étudie le dessin de mode au Studio Berçot, puis se forme aux arts du cirque à l’école Annie Fratellini. Ces deux années décisives marqueront son travail d’artiste.

Spécialiste de l’art scotch et du collage papier, il rejoint le monde du street-art en 2006. Il stocke au fil des années, différents magazines des années 20 en passant par les années seventies jusqu’à aujourd’hui. L’esthétisme du temps passé est une inspiration que l’on retrouve dans ses œuvres. Son parcourt d’artiste peintre commence dans les années 80 où il crée des personnages à l’acrylique et à l’encre, dans les années 2000 il découvre l’art du scotch, créé par Gil Joseph Wolman en 1963. C’est durant cette période qu’il prend le pseudonyme de FKDL. Son travail sera présenté en 2005 dans le cadre d’une rétrospective à la Halle Saint-Pierre à Paris. En 2006 à l’événement « Aux arts citoyens » à l’espace d’animation des Blancs Manteaux à Paris. Il y découvre le monde de l’art urbain.

« Sans être issu du graff, du tag ou du pochoir, j’ai voulu me confronter à la rue, à ses contraintes et à ses rencontres. J’ai rapidement pris goût au collage de mes personnages sur les murs des villes. Maintenant, je ne peux plus m’en passer. »

On peut retrouver ses œuvres éphémères dans les rues de Paris, Berlin, Londres, Bruxelles, New-York, Barcelone, Turin, comme en Guyane et en Guadeloupe. Il est également régulièrement présenté dans différentes galeries.

L'ART Scotch, FKDL précurseur ?

Douces rues